OneWord: Ancient

Found a new writing prompt website: OneWord.com.  Today’s word is: ancient.

Ancient of Days, we are your people from ancient times.
Ancient mummies, telling stories of the past.
Ancient books, fading to dust when opened.
Ancient words, steady and true.
Etched in stone, ancient words.

This word actually made me think of the worship song that I don’t know very well but have sung a couple times:

Ancient words, ever true
Changing me, changing you
We have come with open hearts
Oh, let the ancient words impart

I actually like that song, except for the cheesy “Changing me, changing you” bit.  I wish for all the world somebody would rewrite just that one line.

The other song I think of (and the inspiration for my first three words) is actually called “Ancient of Days,” I’m not as much a fan of that song.  A little too bouncy for me or something.  Does that make me old?

Or ancient. Ha.

Leave a comment

Filed under Creative Writing, Writing Prompt

Leave a comment