“Ideal Day”

I get up before the boys. Make a lovely, hot, filling breakfast. They eat nicely. I finish first and read devotions to them.

After devotions, we sing a couple songs and learn piano.

After piano, big brother writes while I practice phonics with little brother.

Then we go outside and do nature journals. The boys ask me all about the world without prompting and I teach them about God’s glory in his creation.

Then we come back inside and I set out an art project for them so they can create while I read history. We watch a video about history or geography and talk about it.

Then big brother reads a science text of some sort and we do a short experiment outside.

After that, we bake and I teach them about fractions.

We enjoy a snack while I read poetry. They each copy a phrase or stanza.

Then they play nicely or jump on the trampoline while I make lunch. And it’s chicken salad or something healthy and colorful and delicious and grown up.

They get 15 more minutes of play time, then we sit down and recite math facts and I teach them a new math lesson. We use the abacus and colorful counters.

Then it’s quiet reading time and they fall asleep with a good book.

After a short nap, they clean up and help with dinner prep. They eat what I give them and we all enjoy a nice dessert.

After dinner, Daddy plays with them and engages with them and I prepare tomorrow’s plans or finish a chore.

They take super quick showers and then get into freshly washed PJs. We do our family devotions and sing together. They brush their teeth and head for their room, cleaning up any left out clothes or toys. Finally, we both tuck them in with hugs and kisses. They chat a little with each other, but are asleep within 10 minutes.

……………………………………………

Has this EVER been a reality for me? Not even close.

So why am I writing this down? I guess for clarity. Also acknowledgment.

Leave a comment

Filed under Creative Writing

Leave a comment