A Strange Ache

Another friend aching for children, motherhood, being a wife.

Whenever I read about a friend of mine aching with desire to be a wife, to be a mom, it throws my heart into such conflict.  On the one hand, I care very much about my friends and I am sad when they are sad, and I want to help them feel better by saying something encouraging.  But on the other hand, I have ZERO ground for relating to the desire to be a wife, a homemaker.  I have no idea what to say.

And inside, there’s a deeper ache of my own.

What would it have been like to grow up in a home where motherhood and homemaking were valued so highly? What would it be like to grow up with someone who didn’t approach life as if it were all a fight?  What would it be like to grow up with someone who saw her children as blessings instead of accidents, deviations from her life’s plan?  What would it be like to grow up with someone who rested in any and all of God’s blessings, and trusted in His sovereignty, no matter what the circumstances?  What would it be like to grow up where home was a place of peace, and not a place of strife and striving?

We all have our own aches.

Leave a comment

Filed under journaling, Nonfiction

Leave a Reply

