Nichole Nordeman

Nichole Nordeman is one of the music artists who has changed my life.

But I’m getting ahead of myself.

When I was in high school, there was a girl who dated a guy that I had a crush on (but was too fearful to ever even tell him). Jealousy and a victim mentality consumed me and interfered with me having any kind of friendship with her.  However, being a Christian, part of me really didn’t want there to be problems.  And neither did she (she’s also a Christian).

On the day that things started healing between us, she gave me a copy of Nichole Nordeman’s album This Mystery.

It changed my life.

As far as the girl went, I had started growing up and realizing I didn’t need the boy’s attention to make me happy, so I began to let go of the need for that, which freed me up to be friends with this girl.  I also began to realize, though, that I had created a great divide between me and this girl, one I wasn’t sure could ever be fully healed.

I’ve drifted from this girl, although she and I have both happily married since then (and neither of us to the guy in question, who has married someone else).

But Nichole Nordeman has carried me through the lowest of lows and darkest of my dark nights of the soul.  And I still love listening to her today.

Today, out of a ten year hiatus, during which she traveled through her own season of great difficulty, she has come out with a new single that echoes the same battle-strengthened heart of her past music, and I’m incredibly excited to buy her new CD whenever it comes out.

What’s crazy to me is how the events of our lives are connected.  I know that when my friend gave me the CD, she could never have foreseen what impact it would have on me–not merely the giving of the disc, which was an act of unselfish love and generosity that put me in my place–but that the lyrics of the songs would carry me through so much totally unrelated to my friend and the guy.

And in turn, the stories of how Nichole’s music has changed lives (not just mine, but many others as well) encourages Nichole in her faith, as she wrote on her post when she shared her single.

It just shows me all the more how God’s hand is at work in the lives of His people, redeeming brokenness and bringing beauty out of it in the most surprising ways.

Which, incidentally, is what Nichole’s song is about.

It’s just so amazing to behold God’s power at work like this.  Amazing.  Praise be to Him who is able to do immeasurably more than we can ask or imagine. (Eph 3:20)

Leave a comment

Filed under Creative Writing

Leave a Reply

