Properties of rain

Sometime when I’m driving or just in a car and it’s raining, I get absorbed by the concept of the little raindrops hitting my windshield, running down, and joining other raindrops and making bigger raindrops and bigger streams down my windowpane.  It’s fascinating to me how they become totally blended and synonymous with each other.  The only thing that was added was size and volume, but otherwise all those individual raindrops are all made up of the same stuff and turn into just one thing, only bigger.  It’s amazing to me that you can separate water out into shapes but in the end it’s always the same.

I’m starting to realize that this is how life under Christ should be.  In particular today, that’s how a husband-wife relationship should be.  You can separate the two, but in the end they blend into the same purpose.  And maybe that’s how all people under Christ should be, but right now I’m just getting it on a husband-wife-Christ level.  I’ve been learning a lot about that, actually, about how Christ is the image we’re all conforming to, so of course we’re all blending into each other.  Like resonance between a piano and a voice, or between voices and voices.  We’re all singing the same song here, and it’s a beautiful one called Christ.  All members of one body.  I just read that in my devotions the other day–1 Corinthians 12.

People get up in arms about what political stances that means we should take, but it isn’t about political stances at all.  It’s about character.  And I think that’s all I’ll say on that for now.

Right now I just want to focus on the fact that we’re all resonating in the same beautiful song called Christ.

Leave a comment

Filed under journaling, Nonfiction, Reflective Writing

Leave a Reply

