Writing Prompt: Wishing

PROMPT: Everything I know about wishing. 6 minutes. (partwild.wordpress.com)

What Disney-fed child doesn’t know about wishing upon a star?  That’s where I made most of my wishes.  But I also wished on white horses.

I never thought white horses would make a difference; it was more like a good luck charm that I knew wouldn’t really work, but wouldn’t it be nice if it did?

But when I wished on stars it felt more real. It didn’t have to be a falling star for me.  Who sees those anyway?  But when I wished my eyes were turned to heaven, and since I’d grown up in a Christian home, I figured wishing on a star was the same as praying, as long as you were thinking about the Creator of the stars.  I did that for a long time.  I still love stars.  I miss them so much here in the city.  There’s a special star for me–one that flashes.  My grandpa says it’s probably a satellite, but I don’t listen to him, because the best thing in the world would be a big star that flashes rainbows.

Now I’m still a Christian and I still think of wishes as prayers.  Actually, I’ve been feeling kind of guilty, because I wish more than I pray, if they are not the same thing.  But the Bible says that when we don’t know what to pray, the Holy Spirit intercedes for us and prays words for us instead (Romans 8).  I still haven’t quite figured out what to pray.

Wishes I’ve made in my lifetime (wishes in quotations are way more past tense):

  • “I wish I had a dad.”
  • I wish my sister and mom didn’t fight.
  • “I wish a boy would like me back for once.”
  • I wish I was better at [fill in the blank].
  • I wish my husband understood me.
  • I wish anybody understood me.
  • I wish I could get back to the faith I had when I was in high school.
  • I wish I worried less.
  • I wish I didn’t fear people so much.
  • I wish the world were a better place.
  • I wish flowers fixed everything.
Leave a comment

Filed under Creative Writing

Leave a Reply

