Writing Prompt: “I’m Part…”

Not my best piece, but I liked the first sentence a LOT.

PROMPT: Launch from the sentence-starter, “I’m part…,” and keep your pen moving for 6 minutes. Finish the sentence as many different ways as you can OR just unfurl from it and see where your pen goes. If you run out of steam, start again with,  ”I’m part…” Stay curious!

I’m part docile and I’m part fierce.  You wouldn’t expect it, but I can be as stubborn as a mule.  I can also be as deadly as fiery lightning.  I throw temper tantrums.

I’m part redeemed and part sinful. I am a work in progress.  I am not doing the work, but the work done can depend on my willingness to go along with it.  Sometimes fierce comes out and heels dig in when I feel my personal kingdom is threatened, my ego, my id.  Sometimes the last thing in the world I want to do is stop being king and let the rightful king rule.

Sometimes the last thing in the world I want to do is fight.  This is the more-often me, but it pertains more to people than to grace.  When I stop fighting with God, it’s usually because I’ve given up hope of survival.  But those are the times when I am most helped by him, too.

Sometimes fierce is the better.  I know some martyrs who were fierce in their martyrdom.  They believed in something more than themselves and became fierce in that.

I want to be more fierce for that.  I want to be less docile for that.  I am a work in progress.

Leave a comment

Filed under Creative Writing, Nonfiction, Writing Prompt

Leave a Reply

